Autumn Lingers in My Home

It is very satisfying to be able to do the things I had never had the time to do when I was teaching.  This year I learned to crochet. Who said you can’t teach an old dog new tricks(in fact I think even that has been found to be possible).I have had a vegetable garden and canned some of my produce-freezing some ,raised herbs,dried them to use until next year.

My home has the odors of autumn as I remembered my mother’s and grandmother’s did. The cut up peppers  for the sweet pepper relish,the cinnamony-spicy smell of chili sauce simmering on the stove,the apple crisp in the oven- rosemary,basil and thyme as they  dried. Such a homey feeling.

Our homes though are sometimes more difficult to work in even after using a food processor to help with the relish making.  My grandmother had a “summer kitchen” which allowed much of the canning with the boiling water for sterilizing cans and the hot water bath for the processing to escape.  My kitchen was so hot and steamy I had to use the AC-I bet grandma would have liked that. The old iron wood stoves had the warming ovens where bread dough was set to rise-I set mine in my oven with a pan of warm water .I have a glass topped electric range and big canners and kettles of water -not much room and I can use only certain pots and pans.  It was a different time but some of the most rewarding chores can be done in my modern kitchen.  I just love my canning cupboard at the foot of my cellar stair. I remember going into the root cellar for my grandmother to bring up vegetables or food from crocks.  I remember running because it was so dark down there. Creeping slowly down the stairs and racing back up out of the musty darkness. My grandchildren have a nicely lit cellar with carpet on the descending stairs. I wonder what scares

Autumn is a marvelous time.  I miss the odor of burning leaves wafting on the cool air and the baskets of apples fresh from the trees witing to be made into pies. Which my Dad enjoyed immensely with a slice of Vermont cheddar cheese-I can still hear him saying “Apple pie without cheese is like a kiss without a squeeze.”

One response to “Autumn Lingers in My Home

Leave a Reply

